Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

What is the purpose of research in any field? The goal is to analyze a mysterious problem in a particular field and find feasible solutions for the same. It is true that a number of innovations are a result of accidental discovery. However, one cannot deny the importance of focused research in a particular field. A research project can be successful when the scientists or researchers involved are deeply interested in it.

A well-defined problem statement is the first step of any kind of research. If researchers are not focused on something that has an immediate, practical application, how would they define a problem statement to work on? Moreover, the interest in a research domain is equally important for a researcher to contribute something valuable. For instance, if Einstein had not restrained his focus on the field of physics in which he expected to discover something valuable, it would have cost the world another decade or more to discover the same. Admittedly, the outcome of his research was not clear at the time. Nonetheless, it is his passion that helped him to uncover mysteries of physics, and a number of ground-breaking theories such as the photoelectric effect, theory of relativity, and Bose-Einstein quantum statistics.

In addition, modern research projects are goal-oriented and require a comprehensive literature review before starting the research work. For such projects, it is highly likely that the outcome is sure to be achieved. Researchers need to define a problem statement along with a lot of evidence supporting the feasibility of research work to get the funding for the project. There is no element of luck or chance in such determined projects. Any modern research project can be considered as an example here: a large hadron collider, genome sequencing, or a number of unicorn start-ups around the globe.

It can be argued that history is replete with examples of accidental discoveries where researchers' goals were not limited to certain areas. For example, fleming's discovery of penicillin, and Wilhelm Rontgen's discovery of X-rays. Despite these and many other examples, one cannot deny the fact that the basis for all these innovations was a focused, goal-oriented research project.

In conclusion, researchers should work on the projects in which they expect to discover something new. Undoubtedly, there are some projects where the outcome of a line of research cannot be predicted with certainty, and in others, there is a fair chance of not achieving the desired results. Nevertheless, deviating from their interests would not lead to fruitful outcomes, either in their field of interest or the new area that they are exploring.