Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Nature's way, a health-related product franchise is planning to open a new store in Plainsville. The author states that this store will prove to be successful since people in Plainsville are highly health conscious. The children of Plainsville are required to participate in a health program. Thus, sales for Nature's way will surely be high. While, the correlations stated are logical and probable, the argument is based on questionable assumptions and faulty line of reasoning.

The author asserts that stores which are opened in areas where people lead healthy lives are lucrative. Plainsville is also such type of town and that would guarantee success for Nature's way store. However, the author fails to mention whether similar stores already exist in the area. If such is the case, then with other competition being already present in the market, the new store from Nature's way may not be that successful. Also, people tend to trust those products more which have been in the market for longer amount of time. Unless this assumption is supported by more reliable evidences, it cannot be used to buttress this argument.

Citing the merchant report, the author asserts that increased sales of running shoes and exercise clothing will guarantee large sale of the health related products. However, the connection between increased sale of sports merchandise and health products is quite unclear. It may be possible that a large number of people exercise but do not use or want to use a health product.

The number of people in the local club, weight training and aerobics classes are at an all-time high, but will these people be interested in taking up the health product from Nature's way. Many people do not believe in using any external products for boosting their health. Thus, a large number of people living a healthy life does not warranty the use of a large amount of health related product. The author also mentions schoolchildren being a large part of their potential customers. These children are required to participate in fitness for life program which highlights the benefits of exercising. The implication of this evidence does not necessarily strengthen the author's case. A lot of children are more attracted towards fast food items and show little interest in food items that are healthy. In such case, the sale of the health product among children may not be high.

In sum, this arguments needs to backed up with more concrete evidence. A survey must be conducted for the residents of Plainsville which will determine whether the people including children would be interested in taking up the product provided by Nature's way. This will help in strengthening the argument.