Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage claims that Nature's Way franchise in Plainsville will be successful by relying on the assumption that the store is most profitable in regions where residents have a healthy lifestyle. However, this argument is logically flawed. Before accepting the conclusion of this excerpt, the assumptions and questions exposed below have to be clarified and answered.

First, the excerpt does not mention about other similar grocery stores in this town which could be competitors of Nature's Way. The text assumes that Nature's Way will be the pioneer in Plainsville which is unproven. The presence of healthy food grocery stores, other than Nature's Way, can impact negatively and significantly the profitability of this new grocery store.

Another point to be clarified is regarding the price point. In order to be highly profitable, Nature's Way price point could be higher than usual. If there are competitors in the same area or nearby cities who offer similar quality products at a lower price, consumers will be attracted to the more affordable stores, lowering sales and profits at Nature's Way.

Finally, the healthy trend of the residents in Plainville has to be analyzed carefully and continuously as it could be short-lived. This could be a short-term trend like a New Year or Summer time Resolution that will not last significantly. In case the healthy lifestyle of this community is not lasting, the demand will reduce significantly, diminishing the possibility of this store to succeed.

Therefore, before these raised questions are clarified, the claim that Nature's Way franchise in Plainsville will be successful is proven unwarranted and the franchise expansion investment should be re-evaluated.