“A novel therapy has come to our attention that promises to significantly decrease the incidence of dementia in our aging community. According to a 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and funded by the National Institute on Aging, while many physical activities like playing tennis or golf, swimming, bicycling, dancing, and walking for exercise provided cardiovascular benefits for seniors, only one physical activity offered protection against dementia: that was frequent dancing. At GoldenAge we currently provide residents with extensive recreational facilities. These include tennis courts, a fitness center, and lap pools in each senior apartment complex. However, we have no dance studio space at GoldenAge, nor any social dance programs.

Clearly, social dancing can prevent or delay the onset of dementia. Since the onset of dementia inevitably signals the imminent move of residents from our independent living apartments to the more heavily staffed and therefore more costly to operate assisted living quarters, we recommend the establishment of social dance programs at all GoldenAge senior residences—as a cost-effective, positive way to ward off dementia and enable our residents to remain in their independent living quarters.”

The argument that social dancing can prevent or delay of dementia is not entirely logically convincing.

The argument assumes that frequent dancing and other physical activities like playing golf, swimming, walking, among others can offer protection against dementia according to a 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine carried out and yet, there is no proof to show that this is possible.

The argument never addresses the type of study that was carried out. What questions were asked? Who were those asked these questions? What were the natures of the questions asked? What was the method in which this study was carried out, was it oral interview or through questionnaires? Without knowing exactly who the correspondents were and the type of questions they were asked and what response the correspondents gave, it is difficult to accept this conclusion made by the author. Perhaps the correspondents might not understand the question asked, then answered wrongly.

According to the author, this research is a 21-year study. What happened 21-years ago are quite different from what is happening now, the correspondents during which the study was carried out would be different from the current population. Also, the location which this study was carried was not identified by the author. Even though the assumption is true, the current conclusion can we weakened by the study design.

The argument assumes that because Golden Age cannot offer dance study space or any social dance programs led residents to move out of the Golden Age senior residence is a causal and effect assumption, and cannot be justified. Residents might move out for several other reasons not related to the inability of Golden Age not being able to offer dancing facilities. Perhaps, residents can’t afford to pay their bills any longer or they are having another residence of their choice.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion that dancing offers protection against dementia is not enough to support the author’s conclusion because the assumptions raised are not well addressed. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthen if the author could have provided the location of the study, the correspondents for the study and the type of questions asked during the study.