In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The b

The Mayor's recommendation to launch a campaign to attract Autotech to build its manufacturing plant in Hillview is based on an argument that is not well substantiated.

To asses if the recommendation is based on a reasonable premise, the Mayor has to clarify why has he or she chosen to woo Autotech in particular. The memo has no information regarding this and it is imperative to know if Autotech is even looking to build another manufacturing plant. In case, it turns out that Autotech is currently not keen on opening another plant, launching a campaign by the City Council would be a futile and wasteful. If indeed Autotech wants to open another plant, knowing the incentives it is looking for other than tax etc needs to be known to the city Council, to launch an effective campaign.

Seconfly, the recommendation indicates that the landfill area that the Mayor proposes as the site for the plant has been undeveloped for decades. Being left undeveloped for such an extended period of time, raises questions regarding the feasibility of setting up a heavy industry upon the landfill site. It needs to be evaluated if the landfill area needs some preparation or treatment by the Hillview agencies to make it a viable option for the plant.

The Mayor claims that the residents of Hillview rendered unemployed due to the shutting down of Computech, will get employment if Autotech opens its manufacturing plant in the area. However, the vast differences between the kind of human resources required in a software programming company and an automobile manufacturing plant makes the Mayor's claim questionable. Also, unlike a software programming company that requires mostly skilled programmers, an automobile plant can be highly automated and may not need as many human resources. So, information regarding the number of workers and the type of skill-set needed by Autotech needs to be properly assessed before adopting the recommendation.

Lastly, one more aspect that needs to be scrutinised is the reason behind Computech shutting down its national facility in Hillview. Plausible reason for this could be unsuitability of Hillview as a location in terms of ease of business, connectivity, strategic location, infrastructure etc. In such a scenario offering tax incentives by the City Council will not be sufficient enough to persuade Autotech. Consequently, the unemployment is the town will not be alleviated.

In light of above shortcomings in the Mayor’s recommendation, an in depth analysis of by the City Council is required to assess the potency of the recommendation.