“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the la

In the petition by the environmental protection group to the residents of Youngtown, there are mostly unsubstantiated claims and this makes the argument put forth by the group weak.

The environemntal protection group has not stated how they have ascertained the the sensitivity of the wildlife preserve's ecosystem to use of 'a small percentage of land' It seems that they have assumed that any construction within the sanctuary, no matter how small, will most definitely have detrimental consequences on the sanctuary and 'our area'. If it is found that the the Wildlife Reserve has enough resilience to be able to accomodate a small hotel as planned, then the protection groups claims will be impugned.

Also, the protection group assumes that the planned hotel is placed such that it will cause harm to the Youngtown Wildlife Reserve and thereby Youngtown itlself.It might be so that the hotel by the Smith Corporation is on the periphery of the Wildlife Reserve and will have minimum or no impact on the current state of the Reserve. If that is the case, then by not permitting the construction of the hotel which could boost the economy of the tourist town of Youngtown, the Protection Group's claim will work against the benefit of the community it is supposedly concerned about.

The environmental protection group also assumes that the the Smith Corporation will fail on its promise to preserve the sanctuary. This assumption has not been sunstantiated with any proof agains the intentions of the Smith Corporation in similar cases or this particular case. If in lieu of getting the grant to construct the hotel in the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve, the Smith Corporation has plans to work towards the preservation of a larger part of the reserve in conjuction with the reserve authorities, in terms of financial support or any other kind of support, then again, the protection group is precluding the benefits that come with this planned hotel.

If the planned hotel helps in attracting more tourists to Youngtown without harming the wildlife preserve (which is a possibility) and also in turn works towards the preservation of the sanctuary. Then, the protection group's claim that under no circumstances the sale will benefit the community is clearly unfounded. The implication of this is loss to the community by stopping further economic growth in the area.