In order to save a considerable amount of money Rockingham s century old town hall should be torn down and replaced by the larger and more energy efficient building that some citizens have proposed The old town hall is too small to comfortably accommod

The author states that the Rockingham’s century-old town hall be torn down and replaced with new larger building that would be more energy efficient, commodious and economical. The author jumped to these conclusions based on the assumptions that the old townhall can’t comfortably accommodate all the people employed in the town and the cost of heating and cooling the building is remarkably high. This argument is rife with holes and assumption and the evidence isn’t strong enough to make it viable. Thus, before this recommendation can be evaluated two questions must be answered.

Firstly, are all the people employed by the town ever to appear in the townhall at the same time? The town employs a number of people working in various fields and the chances of all of them being present concurrently in the same room is less likely. It’s possible that a clique of people use the townhall at one time. If this is true the townhall has enough room for people. Since, the townhall is used only for special occasions, accomodating a large number of people is still possible; if not “comfortably” accomodating them. If either of these points has merit, then conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, will the cost of tearing down and building a new townhall worth the cost being decreased? In other words, to save the cost of heating and cooling the building, is it economical enough to bear the cost of building a new energy efficient townhall? The expense of tearing down and building is way too large to compensate for the small amount of money spent in air conditioning. It’s also possible that the new building, given that it’s larger in size will likely cost more for air conditioning, despite being energy efficient. If the above is true, the argument doesn’t hold water.

Thirdly, is renting rooms in townhall cost efficient? Renting rooms will definitely generate income but the construction and maintenance cost is still gonna add up. If extra room is required it’s possible for conflicts to occur under improper management. The author should mention details of how he is to outlet the extra room and the rules associated in the advent of such controversy.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is to answer the above two questions and offer valid evidence, then it’s possible to fully evaluate the viability of the recommendation to build a new town hall.