In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

it is stated that the residents of the mason city are likely to use the mason river more often for water sports once the river is cleaned and to support this cause the city government should devote more money in this year’s budget to the riverside recreational facilities. The author has reached this conclusion based on the survey conducted for the mason city resident’s, where they ranked water sports among their favorite recreational activities. also, the city has a river that flows through it, making it suitable to entertain the residents. however, before this recommendation can be evaluated two questions must be answered.

First of all, will cleaning the river really increase it’s use for water sports? Yes, people are interested in water sports but it’s also suggested that river has rarely been used for these pursuits. Nothing can guarantee that people complained about the river, for they wanted it used for water sports, rather being tormented by it’s foul smell and bad quality. it’s possible that people of the city didn’t find mason river exciting enough for water sports and that’s why it was never used for the purpose before. if either of these points has merit, then conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, will devoting more money for riverside recreational facilities increase it’s use? mason river has a recreational facility but as stated it has been poorly maintained due to the small budget allocated to it. however, even when the facility was new people rarely used it for the purpose of recreation. Thus, it’s possible that people ranked water sports the highest for they prefer it in the ocean and not really in the river. if this were true allocating more budget is less likely to do much for the increasing the use of the river facilities.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to it’s reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is to answer the two questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to invest more in the riverside recreational facilities.