Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that Southeastern Grilldon should be chosen as the site for the next HobCo Hobby Shop seems logical at first glance. However, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, with no clear evidence, and thus, the prediction that the new shop will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new customers, might go wrong as well.

First, the president mentions about a poll of the area residents, informing that 88% of those who responded would welcome the shop. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of the survey. We don’t exactly know how many people were involved in the survey. It is possible that the survey included only 10-15 people, out of which 88% welcomed the idea. How many of those people were retirees? What do these people do for a living? Did they have any particular idea about what the Hobby Shop would be about? We don’t know any details about the survey, so it would be very ambivalent to advert to this survey.

Additionally, the president suggests that because the city has a very large population of retirees, it would be beneficial for the Hobby Shop. This may be true, but, a business cannot be set up on this conjecture. It is highly possible that the retirees have a union of their own, they are involved in one business or the other. To strengthen his/her argument, the president should conduct a survey asking the retirees about the idea of opening a Hobby Shop in Southeastern Grilldon.

Grilldon is in a region where the Hobby Business has increased by 300 percent. Yet, there is not even a single Hobby Shop in this area. This is something to be thought upon, rather than just taking the statement diplomatically, and predicting that it would benefit the new business.

Maybe, the people in this area are so much involved in some other activities that they don’t have time for the Hobby Business. It can also be inferred that no one before HubCo, had thought of setting up a business shop in this area. All these points need to be validated by the president before giving the orders of setting up a new shop.

In conclusion, the president would not necessarily be wrong about the prediction that the new shop will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new customers. After all, the area consists of a lot of retirees, and the hobby business has increased by 300 percent in the region. But to support the current prediction, the president must present more conclusive and validated evidences.