The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

The greatness of a political leader can be seen by the challenges that he faces rather than his or her inherent skills and abilities. A great leader is one who proves himself on the battlefield and leads from the front. Nowadays, we find very few political leaders who face challenges and do not hide from them. Whenever, there is a tense situation, one can easily differentiate a great political leader from a political leader.

People are inured to the boisterous speeches that are given by the political leaders. You can find someone or the other, in one part of the country or the other, giving a very good speech and giving hopes to the people. One can find political leaders empathising with the people, but, one will find very few political leaders actually going to their houses and helping them in their needs. It is very easy to stand and deliver a speech, but it takes a lot to fulfill those dreams that the people had been shown.

We can find examples of great leaders in history, who used their skills and abilities to help the people, rather than just reaching the top of the ladder, and then do nothing. Abraham Lincoln, was an unprecedented president of the United States of America, has and will keep on inspiring people in years to come. The challenges that he faced were numerous. He proved that if you are right, no matter what comes in your way, you will reach the glory of success. Another such example is Mahatma Gandhi, the father of the nation, India. The challenges that he faced can’t even be imagined. Leaders become great by their ability to face challenges, not by their ability to run away from challenges.

Everyday, we come across so many political leaders. Leaders who speak eloquently, you feel that this time you are not making a mistake, but, like always, they were disappointing too. We have seen so many visionaries. But, to be a great leader, you have to have the patience and the ability to face everything that comes your way to fulfill that vision.

A great leader will serve his or her people and not look to fulfill his desires. The challenges that his army faces, will be his challenges. The lifestyle his people adapt, will reflect his lifestyle. It is the people that matter more to a great leader rather than himself. An altruistic person, along with the right set of skills and abilities, can become a great leader. We must choose our leaders carefully. It is the leaders that play a vital role in building empires, and destroying them.