Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company.

In this argument the author caveats the stockholders of the Old Dairy Industries to sell their shares and other investors not to purchase stocks of this industry. The author’s argument is based on a survey conducted consumers about their predilection towards low-fat products. Hence, currently Old Dairy Industries are producing more products which contain ample amount of fat and cholestrol. Above assertions have many flaws in them.

Firstly, the survey is conducted on 80 percent of respondents. Exact number of people consuming products amongst them is still hazy. They may include people cooking food at home. Also the term products is too far fetched to compare what Old Dairy Industry produces. Products may include food from fast-food franchise which are generally high in fat and cholestrol. Also, if the survey results may prove to be true, the industries similar to Old Dairy Industry are also going to suffer the same. Here author needs to be specific about number of people participated in the survey who are purchasing product pertaining to products similar to those produced by Old Dairy Industries.

Secondly, the survey also asserts that the responders indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholestrol. That certainly does not mean that the consumer was purchasing Old Dairy products on the first hand.

Futhermore, the author relates the profit that the company will produce directly to the sales of the dairy products containing high fat and cholestrol. It is possible that the company produces wide range of products which the consumer buys and generates a healthy revenue. The loss,if it may occur, may not affect the financial condition of the company afterall. The author is not specific about what products of Old Dairy Industries are produced in what amount and generates what amount of revenue. Hence the direct relationship between the vicissitudes in sales of particular product of Old Dairy Industries and their market value as a whole company cannot be built.

In sum, the author asserts the change in market value of a company is directly in relation to a survey. Had the survey been more specific about the number of people alongwith the specific product targeted the results would have added value to the recommendation of author.