“Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.”

Education of every citizen in a country determines its development and encourages values into the society. It is education that ushers new era full of brilliant minds in various fields; be it music , arts ,science, politics, etc. Hence an insight into the methodology and the curricula of the education is important in determining the quality of education one receives.

The curricula of formal education is fabricated by professionals and experienced people.They discuss and arrive at conclusions so as to provide the beneficiary a concise, at the same time comprehensive syllabus that may nurture the inner thinking capabilities of the students. The syllabus is structured so as to commensurate the needs of students from every part of the society.

But, this comes with major flaws. Primarily due to the curriculum designed , the methodology adopted by the professors or teachers are affected negatively. If the syllabus is designed to feed students with loads of information without any context or underlying principles that led to certain discoveries or any major historical action they may infer values that may be negative from their point of view.Also changes in the formal education system incurs time cost.It takes ample amount of time to implement new changes in the formal education.

As mentioned in the second paragraph, there is a certain section of society that devises the content of textbooks. They may have missed some part of the society hence creates scope problem.Also, the curriculum is always affected by industrialists. They train the students in such a way as to fit in the stereotype environment provided in their corporate culture.

A culture where no creativity is endorsed, only productivity and diligence of a worker earns him/her bread. They are trained since their childhood to comply by the rules of a system. History is full of examples that suggests many tycoons in their respective fields have been dropouts. Steve jobs was able to found the company apple.inc because he wasn’t bound by the things he could/couldn’t do. He was free to do anything according to his will.

Formal education cannot teach us values. For life doesn’t play by rules. One may encounter any difficulty at any point of time in life. One must bear the courage to face it that can only be achieved when one feels free. That can only be achieved by setting ones mind free and following ones passion.