Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol and today low fat products abound in many food stores Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy

In the argument presented, based on some survey, the author claims that there is an aversion to the intake of food containing fat and cholesterol. The author goes on to predict that since many of the products offered by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company will be soon be prone to decrease in sales and eventually result in loss. The claims being made seem promising, however on close inspection we find some unanswered questions.

Firstly, the entire claim made by the author is solely on the basis of a survey, which states that eighty percent of the respondents desire for a healthier choice of food. However nowhere in the argument, does the author provide any source of credibility to certify this survey. The claim does not provide any information about the respondents themselves and in turn leave room for questions, like what age group was considered for the survey, when was the survey taken and does the survey account for people from all walks of life. A brief description about the respondents would have helped strengthen the argument.

Next, the argument hastily assumes that, since many products offered by Old Dairy Industry are high in fat and cholesterol, the company is prone to loss of sales. The point of concerns here is the author fails to provide an exact figure for the number of products, like what does the author mean by "many products". It may happen that, if the company offers, for example, fifty products out of which thirty products are high in fat and cholesterol. Although the number still qualifies as being "many", there are still other products that can fetch profits for the company. Thus a specified number in terms of percentage of products would have eliminated this loophole.

Finally, the author arrives at an extreme conclusion that since the Old Dairy Industry will soon sink in loss, stock holders should sell their stake and new investors should refrain from investing in the company. This conclusion seems far fetched as there can still be other ways for the company to make profits. Instead of arriving at such an extreme measure, the author should have proposed the Old Dairy Industry to switch to products with low fats and cholesterol to cope with the changing market.

In conclusion, it is seen that the author presents some powerful argument, however fails to account for the small loopholes which in turn leaves room for doubts.