45 The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent During the same year Omni showed a signif

In this argument, the author predicts that instituting online degree programs will help Humana University increase enrollment and solve its budget problems based on increase in enrollment at the nearby Omni University. The argument seems convincing at first, but there are some logical loopholes that help weaken the argument.

Firstly, the author mistakenly assumes that both the regions, where these Universities are located, are somehow similar. This assumption asserts that having an online degree program will help increase enrollment at Humana University. Maybe the real reason for increase in enrollment at Omni university might be, that the people there would have been able to afford a degree program as oppose to the region where Humana University is located. A comparative study showing similarities between the people of both regions would have helped eliminate this loophole.

The next unwarranted assumption that the author makes is that the decrease in enrollment at the Humana University is solely because of the absence of an online degree program. There can be many reasons for the decrease in enrollment such as the quality of education might not be that promising. Maybe the people graduated from Humana University have failed to get a professional employment resulting in a lack of trust among the people in the region. A brief discussion about the quality of education at Humana University would have helped strengthen the argument.

Lastly the author vaguely claims that having an online degree program will help solve its budget problems. The problem of concern here is that, the author fails to account for the initial cost that will be incurred in creating as well as promoting an online degree program. Maybe the amount of investment involved would further strain the already existing budget problems. Besides that, there is no guarantee that having such an online degree program will instantly cause the number of enrollments to increase.

In conclusion, the author provides some arguments to support his prediction but fails to provide credible proof which support those arguments and in turn leaves room for doubts that weaken the argument.