Claim In any situation the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments Reason Facts are objective so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals

Facts, if credible, prove much more powerful in support of, or against any argument. Thus I firmly agree with the claim being made here that facts and statistics are the best way to persuade someone. In the following paragraphs, I will present some points to support my position.

Firstly, Facts, if credible, pose as single source of truth. By single source of truth, I mean there is no way you can turn down a truthy statement. For example, when we say the Earth resolves around the Sun, it is a fundamental truth that cannot be declined. Thus when appropriate facts are laid down, whether in support or against an argument, there is no way to not agree with it unless, you know that those facts are not credible.

Secondly, lets take an example of a court of justice. Primarily there are two sides, the complaining side and the defending side. When a case is fought, what happens is lawyers from both sides present facts and witnesses, which they believe to be true, before a judge as well as a jury panel and try to persuade them into believing that each of them is true. So if we see our entire justice system is based on the claim being made here.

The reason provided in support of the claim that facts are objective also helps us strengthen this claim. For example, there was a popular belief before Rutherford conducted his gold foil experiment, that the atom was supposed to have a non hollow structure where its mass was evenly distributed throughout the atom. It was only after Rutherford conducted his gold foil experiment and presented the world with authentic experimental statistics, that the world came to know that an atom is almost hollow with a significant amount of mass concentrated at the center.

In conclusion facts not only help persuade someone but also help in bringing about change, a change that is necessary for progress.