"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numb

The author recommends that skateboarding should be banned in Central Plaza as it is disrupting the business there. To support his argument the author points out that due to increase in the popularity of skateboarding, number of shoppers are decreasing in the plaza. also, he claims that there is increase in amount of litter around the plaza due to skateboarding. The argument is rife with many loopholes. I found the argument unconvincing for three critical reasons.

Firstly, the argument is fraught with dubious assumptions. The author blindly believes that the decrease in sales of Central Plaza is only due to increased popularity of skateboarding but he fails to consider the other reasons possible behind this. It is entirely possible that some new Plaza has opened up near that which are better than Central Plaza. Perhaps, the price of Central Plaza risen up steeply and side by side deteriorating the quality of products and services. The belief of plaza owners that their business has been shut down only due to skateboarding is flawed in itself and they must analyse other plausible reasons for that.

Furthermore, the proponent of the argument fails to give exact number of Central Plaza store owners who thinks the skateboarding as the sole reason for their poor business. The lack of proper survey makes the analysis of the argument somewhat more difficult. Had the author had provided the number of owners who are against this skateboarding, we will be able to assess the argument more easily and reliably. But the lack of proper statistically representative sample and the mention of word "many owners" is leading us to nowhere. The author is recommending based on only some owner's opinion and does not seek the opinions of all owners.

Finally, the author unfairly assumes that there is increased vandalism and litter around Plaza due to skateboarding only. The author cannot provide any evidence to support this assertion. He again fails to consider other possible reasons for this. It is completely possible that there is some food court nearby or non-availability of dustbins in the surrounding might be forcing customers to litter. Without any evidence the author is blaming only skateboarders for the litter and vandalism. Thus, due to lack of valid evidence, the author is not able to establish the direct relation between vandalism and litter with the skateboarding.

In the sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. It fails to convince me that skateboarding is the only reason for the reduction of business in the Central Plaza. Predicting any trend needs some more important information which the author has not paid attention to and fails to establish direct relation between the both situations. To better assess the argument I need more information about several aspects mentioned in the argument. In the light of above discussion, the argument sounds illogical and unconvincing and calls for a better solution and an alternative.