"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numb

The number of skateboarders increasing and the popularity of the Central Plaza decreasing has a vague relationship. I don't think that the author has provided enough reasons for this to happen and has only just stated one statement.

The author has said that the owners believe that the business is decreasing because of the skateboarding activities and the amount of litter and vandalism done by the skateboarders but in any part of the passage no evidence is given that the nuisance is created by the skateboarders itself. Maybe the author thinks that as the skateboarding activity is increased therefore leads to more of the litter but at the same time it can be possible that the litter is done by the Central Plaza owners or the people working there itself.

Also the author has not mentioned how the increase in skateboarding has caused the decrease in the business of the Central Plaza owners. This is just a mere prediction of the author that states that one quantity is increasing and other is decreasing then definitely the former is the cause of the latter to happen.

The prohibition of skateboarding is told as the solution of the problem in the above argument. There is no solid evidence that the prohibition would lead to the higher levels of business as maybe that would even lessen the business as there maybe possibility that the skateboarders would come to the plaza and would buy things and increase the business.

Moreover it is not clearly mentioned that the fault in the decrement of the levels of the business is only because of skateboarding. Maybe there are other reasons to that, maybe the quality of the things of the Central Plaza is not upto the mark therefore people do not come to buy the products there.

Therefore the argument sounds inconvincing to me and even more than that the conclusion derived from the argument is vague as it does not consider all the possibilities.