"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

this editorial concludes that the city should ban skateboarding from its downtown central plaza in order to attract visitors to that area, to return the area to its "former glory," and to make it "a place where people can congregate for fun and relaxation." To justify this conclusion the editorial points out that skateboarders are nearly the only people one sees anymore at central plaza, and that the plaza is littered and its property defaced. The editorial also points out that the majority of downtown merchants support the skate boarding ban. this argument is flawed in several critical respects.

First, the editorial's author falsely assumes that a ban on skateboarding is both necessary and sufficient to achieve the three stated objectives. perhaps the city can achieve those objectives by other means as well--for example, by creating a new mall that incorporates an attractive new skateboard park. even if banning skateboarders altogether is necessary to meet the city's goals, the author has not shown that this action by itself would suffice. assuming that the plaza's reputation is now tarnished, restoring that reputation and, in turn, enticing people back to the plaza might require additional measures--such as removing litter and graffiti, promoting the plaza to the public, or enticing popular restaurant or retail chains to the plaza.

Secondly, the editorial assumes too hastily that the plaza's decline is attributable to the skateboarders--rather than to some other phenomenon. perhaps the plaza's primary appeal in its glory days had to do with particular shops or eateries, which were eventually replaced by less appealing ones. Or perhaps the crime rate in surrounding areas has risen dramatically, for reasons unrelated to the skateboarders' presence at the plaza. without ruling out these and other alternative explanations for the plaza's decline, the editorial's author cannot convince me that a skateboard ban would reverse that decline.

Thirdly, the editorial's author might be confusing cause with effect--by assuming that the skateboarders caused the abandonment of the plaza, rather than vice versa. it is entirely possible that skateboarders did not frequent the plaza until it was largely abandoned—and because it had been abandoned. In fact this scenario makes good sense, since skateboarding is most enjoyable where there are few pedestrians or motorists to get in the way.

Fourth, it is unreasonable to infer from the mere fact that most merchants favor the ban that the ban would be effective in achieving the city's objectives. Admittedly, perhaps these merchants would be more likely to help dean up the plaza area and promote their businesses were the city to act in accordance with their preference. Yet lacking any supporting evidence the author cannot convince me of this. Thus the survey amounts to scant evidence at best that the proposed ban would carry the intended result.

finally, the author recommends a course of action that might actually defeat the city's objective of providing a fun and relaxing place for people to congregate. In my experience skateboarding contributes to an atmosphere of fun and relaxation, for adults and children alike, more so than many other types of ambiance. without considering that continuing to allow skateboarding--or even encouraging this activity--might achieve the city's goal more effectively than banning the activity, the author cannot convincingly conclude that the ban would be in the city's best interests. In sum, the argument is a specious one.

To strengthen it, the editorial's author must provide dear evidence that skateboarding, and not some other factor, is responsible for the conditions marking the plaza's decline. The author must also convince me that no alternative means of restoring the plaza are available to the city, and that the proposed ban by itself would suffice to attract tourists and restore the plaza to its former glory. finally, to better assess the argument it would be useful to know the circumstances under which the downtown merchants would be willing to help the city achieve its objectives.