Over the past two years the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numbe

In the argument, the author concludes that if skateboarding is prohibited in Central Plaza, then the store owners here will earn a striking profit the same as its previously high levels. In my view, the argument suffers from several critical fallacies.

First of all, the reliability of the survey, cited by the author as main evidence, that many store owners attributed the decrease in their business to skateboard users can cast doubt on. The survey does not provide the total number of Central Plaza store owners. It is possible that the number of owners who complain skateboard users is ten, but the amount of store owners of Central Plaza is 1,000. Consequently, several owners' views cannot represent the most general opinions in Central Plaza. Besides, the questions, used by the survey, might be misleading. The interviewers just provided two selections for store owners when study the real reasons for the decrease in business of Central Plaza. One of two selections was related to skateboard users. Store owners selected the option because they wanted to find an external reason or they did not like noising sports. We cannot accept the further inferences before the author shows more details of the survey.

Secondly, the causal relationship, the author implying, between skateboarding and a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism is problematic. The author ignores many other factors, unrelate to skateboard, could lead to increasing of litter and vandalism. For example, the people, lived in the city where Central Plaza locates, walked through the shopping mall for resisting an inequal policy and they left many litters here. What's more, the increasing of vandalism is the result of lacking money for the management of Central Plaza to maintain public devices. Without carefully and clearly looking into those factors, the author's inferences are unconvincing.

Last but not least, the author assumes that if skateboarding is prohibited here, and then the business here will return to normal levels. Prohibiting skateboarding here is not necessarily lead to the increase of store owners' business. Perhaps, some people, loving other sports unrelate to skateboarding, enjoy themselves in Central Plaza after prohibiting skateboarding here. Those people will also lead to complaints from the store owners. Prohibiting skateboarding is insufficient to prove the increase of business, as the author predicted. Customers might go shopping in other malls or cities because they will spend less money for the same objects. The author cannot arbitrarily conclude that conclusion without precluding those factors.

In sum, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To better support the conclusion, the author should provide more details about the survey. To better assess the argument, the author must meticulously eliminate other factors that might lead to the decrease in store owners' business.