Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

There is a claim asserting that government officials must meet the will of the people in their state. Others oppose this view and believe that decisions, made by the authority, should depend on the government's own considerations. It is undeniably true that the government, elected by their people, should listen to their citizens and make policies as well as laws that must be beneficial to the people they serve. However, officials cannot be arbitrarily swayed by their citizens.

In the first place, responsibilities of the government are that the authority must defend society against unequality and discriminations, maintain our society to be harmonious and promote the development of the economy so that their people could live a happy life. There were many opposide examples where the people overthrew their governments without carrying out the sincere will of them. The British Empire imposed an inpersonal and inequal colonial rule on India. Gandhi was a national hero of India that he listened to the most general Indians, instead of the British government, and called for Indian people to implement the unviolent and uncooperation movements to fight against the cruel rule. Besides, Mandela broken the apartheid in South Africa and Martin Luther King Jr. promote the American civil rights movement. All those cases suggest that if government officials does not temperately listen to their people and they will confront a bad will from their people.

Secondly, carrying out the will from their people is significantly important for the leader of the government. For example, when Franklin D. Roosevelt ran for the president, America was experiencing an unprecedented financial crisis. Roosevelt watched out that the poor were live an unsustainable life in the crisis. Roosevelt made the New Deal, while faced criticism from conservitives, restored hope and self-respect to tens of millions of desperate people. Helping the poor in the Great Depression built a good reputation for him, and Roosevelt successfully served for four consecutive terms becoming one of the most great presidents in United States. It is significantly beneficial for leaders of governments when they carry out the will of the people their serve.

Last but not least, the authorities’ decisions cannot be totally controlled by the will of the people no matter those people support their governments or not. Officials should meticulously make any decision or plan because the people they rely might disregard the long-term benefits for short-term benefits. When an infectious disease breaks out, it is reasonable that the government tempararily shuts down schools, factories and companies and orders their citizens to stay at home for several weeks. But citizens want to go out of houses to eat delicious food or present a party which just leads to disease spread more quickly and fosters a worse situation. Officials’ decisions and plans should consider more the long-term benefits of their people rather than totally swayed by them.

In sum, the will of the people officials rely is liking water that can carry a boat. To continuously and safely lead a state, officials must reasonably listen to their people without controlled by the will for the short-term benefits.