"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum given by the business manager of a TV station is flowed for various reason. Essentially the argument is based on unjustified assumption that, increase local news and weather time in the late night news program will attract more viewers. As a result, its main conclusion, increase in local news and weather during late night news will result in increased revenue, is invalid.

The major flow in the business manager argument is that, number of viewers or revenue is only dependent on the local views and local business advertizing. Though, these two make part of the total views and revenue, they might be negligable when compared with the national viewers and possible national business that might advertize with the TV station. the busness mannager could have given his statment more validity my describing the size of the local busness compared to nationl. Even then that might not be enough to completly validate his point.

The second major flow in this argument is it does not specify the location of the customers that have reported their dissatisfaction with the current coverage. If those customers are only localy based, they dont reflect the views of the national viewers. The BM could have given more value to his argument by specifying the number and location of the viewrs that have reported their disastisfaction.

In conclusion as a result of the numerous unjustified statements made by the busness manager, his/her argument fails to justify his conclusion that reinstating local news and weather during late night news will result in increased views and revenues. Instead, such change will only result in limiting the number of viewrs and business that can advertize with the TV station and thus limiting the revenue of the TV station.