“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument by the author of investing more resources in unmanned space flight in light of the recent successful unmanned space flight is flowed for various reasones. As a result its main conclusion is invalid.

Firstly, the passage does not specify the tasks of the recent successful unmanned space flight and how it relates to the the tasks or this propossed space flight. Thus, it is unknown as to how unmanned space flight would perfom for this proposed flight and how efficient it would be compared to a manned space flight. Therefore, the suitablity of unmanned space flight must first be studied before any conclusions are made.

Secondly, the author does not give the cost or difficulty of building an unmanned space rocket and how that compare to building a manned space rocket. For example, if the cost of building unmanned space rocket is much higher than the cost of building manned rocket; the cost associated with unmanned space flight will be higher. Thus full assessment should first be done about the cost of building and running unmanned space flight before an investment are made to such .

Lastly, though unmanned space flight may not have any associated risk of lossing the lives of astronats, it is important to do full assessment of what is entailled in unmanned space flight before any investments are done. If the cost of risk involved with manned space flight is higher than the cost of building and running unmanned space flight, then it will be justified to make investments into unmanned space flight. Therefore, untill the full cost (building, running, effciency and any associated risk) of unmanned and manned space flight are studied and compared, no valid conclusions could be made.

In conclusion the conclusion, of investing more resources in unmanned space flight is unwarantted as it is based in unjustified assumptions and more assesment on manned and unmanned space flight is required before any conclusions are made.