Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with

In the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, it is stated that due to increase in the time to late night national news and less time to weather and local news, many of the viewers are complaining for the station coverage of the weather and local news and in addition local business that used to advertise, those contracts are being cancelled.To which the manager have come to the conclusion to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level which help in attract more viewers to the program and avoid loosing any further adveretising revenues.However, before this recommendation can be truly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, how much percentage of people are complaining to on air the weather and local news. Are those people even comparable to the people who don't have any problem with late natinoal news? It's is also possible that complain getting registered for the local news in the certain area, which don't have a large population or this could also be done by certain set of people. However mainting local news and weather would certainly help to engage more number of viewers but needs to the calculate the exact proportion of people are who are really interested.And this argument only support for the past year but their might be a possibilty that in upcoming years more natinoal news viewers will get attracted and these small compaints would be least important for the company.

Sencondly, loosing the advertising contracts from local businesses is a lot less when compared to those businesses who want to advertise their businesses on natinoal level. What if running the advertisments for the local one start making losses for the national ones, which according to me would be much higher amount than the local ones.So a proper research needs to be done before evaluating the losses which will be incurred if local news starts to be air by giving sometime of national news adverstiments.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerable flawed due to the relaince on the several unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answer to the above questions and offer more evidence(perharps in the form of systematic research study), then it is possibilty of recommendation that local and weather should be given certain amount of time for the local people resulting in less complains and lossing less contracts.