Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

A diet rich in certain foods may benefit a person's joints and brains. Naturally, one must think about why they should do a certain things. This argument is flawed because it treats anecdotal evidence as trustworthy, the argument does not consider the overall lifestyle of the person, and then assumes humans would do a particular act because they undestand the exact sceicne behind it.

The fondational proof for such a claim is built upon anecdotal evidence. Although one can use an individual case study to analyze a finer point of a general claim, one cannot base an entire assumption on anecdotal evidence. First, a person that already buys the assumption that consuming cartilage and chondroitin assist in the regeneration of one's cartilage and nerves can be influenced by a placebo effect. The individual suffers from confirmation bias. To improve this claim, one must seek out a sizable sample size and require each canidate to see a qualified medical professional. The person sustaining such a diet must be check before they begin consuming these foods, and then during the duration of the diet. The person must record all foods, and thene a nutritionist can anayze the findings. The data must then be complied together to determine a pattern. An individual exeprince is too falable.

Additionally, a person cannot exclusivley attribute improved joints or increased brain health to a diet rich in bone broth and chondroitin. A person who takes mental pains to consume a heathy diet may also assume other types of health foods. A person who chooses foods based on health instead of taste may also avoid foods that result in an unhealthy outcome. Also, one cannot assume that diet alone results in better bone of brain health. If a person is concerned with thier joints, they may also chose excersizes that are kind to the knees and elbows, but contribute positively to thier body's health. If they are concious of thier brain's health, they may play mental games. To soley attribute improved heath to what one eats excludes so much of one's life.

More over, the writer calims that even if these results are true, humans must have consumed these foods because they understood the exact benefits of thier make up. IEven if one assumes the findings are true, one cannot assume that they understand why "human ancestors" from the paelo period ate cartilage-rich or chondroitin-heavy foods. The foods could have been consumed accidentally. Humans could assume that in order for foods to grow, they must expose thier crops to the sun to appease a sun-god. This will result in crops growing, but this does not mean that the sun is a god that must be satisfied. The result is positive, but the reasoning is flawed.

This argument does not consider that anecdotial evidence is not trusthworthy, nore that someone may improve for many reasons. Also, it assumes humans act a certain way on purpose, but a human can do something good without knowing the sceince behind such an act.