The producers of the forthcoming movie 3003 will be most likely to maximize their profits if they are willing to pay

Robin Good several million dollars to star in it—even though that amount is far more than any other person involved

with the movie will make. After all, Robin has in the past been paid a similar amount to work in several films that were

very financially successful.

The argument claims that the producers of the movie 3003 will be most likely to maximize their profits if they employ Robing Good as an actor in the movie by paying him several million dollars. The line of reasoning is that the recent movies in which Robin Good starred in were highly financially successful. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Also, the argument reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the profits of 3003 depend only on Robin Good. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. Not only it is well known that the success of a movie depends on several other factors, but also the author fails to discuss them. For example, the season, in which the movie is released, has a strong impact on the success. If the movie is released in summer, the profits will be lower. regardless of Robin Good starring in the movie or not, as if the producers release the movie in the winter. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly provides data and evidence for the influence of Robin Good on the movie’s success.

Second, the argument claims that paying Robin Good an above-average salary will increase the profits of 3003. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim, as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between the profits of a movie and the high of the actors’ salary. Not only has a high salary a negative impact on the profits as it increases the production costs, but also on the production budget. As a result, the production cannot be as extensive as it could be. Also, the argument does not provide any data about the previous pays of Robin Good which could justify the high pay. If the argument had provided evidence that high pay of Robin Good has a positive effect on the profits of 3003 then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the argument concludes that as Robin Good has been paid a similar salary in his recent movies, which were very financially successful, it is justified to pay Robin Good a similar amount for starring in 3003. From this statement again, it is not clear at all how Robin Good positively influences the profits from 3003. The argument provides no supporting data that the profits from 3003 only depend on from Robin Good nor that a high pay of Robin Good will maximize the producers’ profits. Without supporting facts to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking and not substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and so unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author provided supporting data. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.