People should not be misled by the advertising competition between Coldex and Cold-Away, both popular over-the-counter cold medications that anyone can purchase without a doctor's prescription. Each brand is accusing the other of causing some well-known, unwanted side effect: Coldex is known to contribute to existing high blood pressure and Cold-Away is known to cause drowsiness. But the choice should be clear for most health-conscious people: Cold-Away has been on the market for much longer and is used by more hospitals than is Coldex. Clearly, Cold-Away is more effective.

In this argument the speaker recommends that, cold-away is more effective than coldex , to support this argument speaker points out that the health-conscious people choose cold-away which has been used by people and high on demand for many years, the author also cites that hospital suggest to take cold-away .but the argument is unconvincing for several reasons.

First of all, author stated that to take medicine without doctor’s prescription by saying that: coldex and cold-away ,both popular over the counter that anyone can purchase without prescription. From my point of view no one can purchase or take any medicine without doctor’s prescription, there can be many side effects of doing it , even if they both are very effective for cold, there can be some case that someone has some allergies of some products that are contained in medicines.

Secondly, author also states that people should not be misled by the advertising competition between coldex and cold-away ,he also indicated that both are popular -over -counter , but there are many medicine other than colder and cold-away which may be can be better effective in cold . there can be case that doctor prescribe other medicine and people take other medicine than these two.if this is the case the other medicine can be purchased by more people and can be chance that they are high in market. To prove this fact I want some more data to compare between.

Thirdly ,author states that each brand is accusing some well-known ,unwanted side effect, to prove that he states that colder is known to contribute to existing high blood pressure and cold-away is known to cause drowsiness, but this evidence is far to vague. there can be can that people are having un wanted side effect because they hadn’t take doctor’s prescription.without right proof i can’t agree with that. to agree that I need some more information.

fourthly,author comes with the big statement that cold-away is more effective by saying: the health conscious people take always elect cold-away and which always has been on the market and is used by many hospital, this fact is dubious in many ways, firstly author has not given any data to compare , I can’t decide which is good if the particular data is not given .author also state that cold-away is selling high in market but there can be possibility that cold-away is in low price than coldex.

In sum, the author’s argument is weak is many way. To strengthen the argument the author need to provide 1) more data and fact to prove that cold-away is more effective.2) comparison between other medicines 3)need to get data from other medical 4) data of people taking other medicine than these two . To justify the claim author need to provide such information.