People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Good decision making is a cognitive process of evaluating all the aspects which encompass logical as well as emotional factors. I do not completely agree with the statement of broadly categorizing the people who made emotional decisions and later justifying them with logic as poor decision makers. I believe the truth lies somewhere in middle. An assessment of the decision-making process of this category people may reveal the flip side of the coin.

We do not have to go too far to find examples where people have made emotional decisions and often justified them with logic. One cannot deny that the sacrifices our parents made had a greater of an emotional quotient but often justified those decisions with logic. I have seen my mother rejecting numerous wonderful work opportunities which could have been brilliant career move so that family does not get disturbed. Those were emotional decisions and later often explained with logic like better work-life balance but does that makes them poor decision maker? I believe no, not really.

Negative impacts of making a completely emotional decision with no logical explanation cannot be gainsaid. Definitely, there is no denial that there are certain impulsive decisions like wastefully spending money or indulging in wrong lifestyle choices because of emotional imbalances which are definitely not appreciated. This kind of decisions has an undesirable impact on life. However, an important point to consider in regard to such decisions is for this kind of arbitrary decisions then there is no logical reasoning or explanation. Hence, cannot support the statement under the discussion.

To a certain extent, it is seen that people who made emotional decisions and later use logic to explain themselves because of social bondage (be it be love or fear). Several factors like what if people shall think of my decision or I owe an explanation? What if they do not understand me and go against my decision? A person who feels a need to justify his emotional decision may use logic for outsiders and the world but the author fails to acknowledge that generalizing them as poor decision maker would not be so accurate. If a person is sure of his decision, firstly, I do not see a need to be justified. Secondly, often, it is not matter of right or wrong it is more of what works best for that person and is very subjective from person to person and importantly, justifying yourself cannot be a considered as an indication of poor decision making.

In cohesion to above statements, I would further like to add that in the process of decision making, a person who does not consider feeling and completely depends on calculations or logic can equally make poor choices if he fails to include happiness and contentment in his logical decision. A political policy depending just on logic will not earn the support of people until it takes cares of emotions and feeling of public.

To conclude, decision-making is an art of striking the right balance between brain and heart. One who listens to internal voice and finds logical reasoning to strengthen his/her decision have higher odds against failing. Hence, for me to fully endorse author's argument, it needs to be a shifted towards wider acceptance and flexibility to acknowledge different human behavior, thought processes and situations.