Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

Whether the goal of good politics is to pursuit an ideal or to find a common ground and reach reasonable consensus is a subject of discussion with examples of both kinds of politics pervade throughout the history. However, given in today’s era, I see a need to have the goal of good politics to bring a consensus of a majority on common grounds and achieve them in a planned manner.

Claim that goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal have some inherent issues associated with it. Ideal for one could be not-so-ideal and some may argue on who will determine what is the ideal? The pursuit of ideal may turn into governance by an authoritative body dictatorial and dogmatic in nature, with prime focus on personal agenda, overlooking opinion or denying ideas of many others. A very recent example, we witnessed during Donald Trump’s presidential campaign who described his agenda as the pursuit for the ideal America but there have been discrepancies on the feasibility of idea and image of ideal not agreeable to many.

In pursuit of an ideal, there could be circumstances, where political parties might interfere with individual freedom. Politics with goals to reach common grounds and achieve reasonable consensus would have space for freedom of rights and hence there would be a more transparent system. Voting, polling is the foundation step towards reaching a consensus and to establish a common ground. In pursuit of an ideal, the expectation would be sky-touching and since they are not practically achievable , it would always result in discontent and later taking shape of stronger revolts . This would further break the social economic fabric of the nation.

The goal of politics should be to ensure sustainable growth, safe living conditions, managing economic markets and strengthening the social fabric of country for national integrity and progress. There is a need to quantify the results, to compare with the last governance which is only possible when policies made are based on common grounds supported by general public and government working to achieve them . In abstract pursuit of an ideal, it would be near to impossible to quantify the results like satisfaction index, quality life index.

The goal of politics should be to nurture commonly achievable targets in a comprehensive in dynamic setting instead of striving for an ideal state, as its is no more a closed world where all the factors are in complete control. To conclude, politics need to set realistic goals which can bring maximum satisfaction to its population, this can only be possible if there are common grounds with reason consensus.