The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

One must admit, technological advancement have definitely contributed to make people's life better than before, but I do not agree that it has really contributed to increased efficiency and hence more leisure time.

To begin with, leisure time revitalises, gives a break from monotony and hence recharges a person. Although, technological advancement have opened new never imagined ways of engaging during the leisure time however facts and statistics are proving that they are significant factors in lowering productivity during work hours and overall contributing to lesser efficiency of people. Today, most of people are spending approximately 3-4 hours on social apps, playing games on mobiles or just scrolling through updates of people which are potentially not contributing to individual's efficiency. Later, they work late in offices and hence reducing their leisure time.

Admittedly, today technology have made it easy to share and connect and supporters of the other side of camp would definitely argue on its an individual choices and decisions on how much technology he is allowing to distract or how much people indulge in the unnecessary meaningless content available. However, they fail to acknowledge the fact that if people have been choosing correctly, there should be decrease in the reported stress-levels, depression, number of suicide attempts, lack of socialization, which is not the case. Statistics says, that with ease of life and robots working for you, 33% of world population is obese and suffering from mental/physical illness.

It would not be wrong to say - leisure time have become a rare commodity in today's era. Today, it is hard to see people actually taking time-off for their souls. We all have been using "sorry, I was busy" phase more than before generations have been because we are not able to realise the subtle difference between a quality leisure time which really nurtures one's hobbies or passions.

Truth lies somewhere in middle, and one cannot deny technological advancements have definitely increased efficiency of those who have prudently made their choices, however average minds and majority of people have failed to put technology for increasing efficiency and hence engaging more in the activities which can really fuel their souls during the leisure time.