Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

It is true that mass media and internet have resulted in more faster circulation of world information and has made people more aware about the different aspects of the current affairs, but it might be a stretch to say that the overall effect has been positive. The advancements in these fields have come at the cost of people's attention span and focus ability. It can be argued that it enables people the ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what's important but the consequences of a shorter attention span and ubiquitous information are much more far-reaching.

While it might be considered an advantage that information is much more widely available, but it also makes people more casual towards their work. People no longer want to go in detail to see the reasoning behind why something is happening the way it is happening. For example, if a student gets stuck at some academic problem, he no longer wants to go in detail of the formulation and proof of the concept he is studying. Rather he will just look up a work around in internet. This might solve the problem in the short term but in the long term, the student will never be able to develop a strong foundation for the subject.

A shorter attention span can result in far greater problems. Because of this, people are no longer able to dedicate an ample amount of focus on anything specific. This results in a society that is jack of all trades, but master of none. It makes people less decisive and less aware of their abilities. People are afraid to take risks as they do not want to commit to a discipline because they are no longer specialists in a particular fields.

It can be argued that ability to focus on important things out of a greater amount of information can help people to be more decisive and focus on the important things in life, but what good is such a focus if it cannot last? A shorter attention span means people are not able to remain focussed for a long time and their thoughts tend to vacillate among different ideas. They tend to not develop deliberate over concepts or draw deep and meaningful insights, but rather are happy to observe things from breadth and not depth.

To conclude, I would like to underscore the importance of being decisive in life. A decisive person is able to avoid the trap of procrastination and able to spend much of his time doing the real work. This provides him the ability to become more self-aware and in turn, better in their respective fields.