The best way for society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields in by instilling them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The best way for society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields in by instilling them a sense of cooperation, not competition. I do not agree with this statement.

Leadership is a very complex concept as there really is no set of rules that makes one a good leader. When I think about a good leader, lots of names come to my mind - Abraham Lincoln, Narendra Modi in government settings, Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Ratan Tata in technology industrial settings and Roy Keane, Paulo Maldini and Johan Cryuff in sports. Each of these great leaders have their noble qualities and idiosyncracies that make them great but one of the underlying entity that unites them all, is the spirit of competition. A competetive notion of earning the right to proclaim their contingent or company or nation as the best. This vision of wanting to be the best is what drives the leader and that energy is often translated to their followers as well. When you have a clear vision, it is easier to motivate yourself when the situations are exacting.

Of course a good leader must know how to maintain harmony and cooperation in a team but being competitive does not mean that the leader cannot do that. The leader needs to be competitive in the right way. He cannot set out to propagate the feeling of competition within his team but he needs to make sure that his team are out there to win; they are out there to beat the opposition.

Take Steve Jobs for example. He was competitive and even set out to mock his competitors in his famous presentations and speeches. But it was his desire to be the best that translated to his company. He was able to drive them to go beyonnd their bandwidths and achieve things which they did not believe they were capable of doing. In context of Jobs, one of the Apple employees very famously said that they were able to do the impossible because they did not know it was impossible. It is this kind of motivation and passion that comes from the spirit of competition.

To conclude, I would like to say that excess of anything is definitely not good. Being competitive brings the best out of a team but obsessively competing or going out of the way to be competitive often drags a leader and his team down. The leader must learn to achieve the right balance of competition and cooperation in order to get the best of both concepts.