A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion of the author can be undermined through a scrupulous analysis of the reasoning, since it is possible to detect several flaws. These regards the consistency of the samples that have been tested, the motivation behind the analysis and the interpretation of results.

First of all, the author reports that samples of the 4 million pounds of pet food have been analysed. However, no quantitative information is reported in order to evaluate their validity, such as the number of pounds per each sample or the statistical method to form those. As a consequence, the quantity of pet food that has been investigated may be too small, and thus not representative of the entire recalled food, in order to obtain a non-misleading outcome.

Furthermore, it is told that the testing has been directed by the company itself. In this circumstance, it is likely that a conflict of interest can arise among the fair conduction of the study and the reputation of the company on the market. Actually, the highest interest of the management is to demonstrate that the product it is not responsible for the illness experienced by the plethora of pets. Therefore, the truthfulness of the study could be doubt when suspecting that the favourable outcome has been forced to maintain a solid and stable reputation in the market.

Moreover, even allowing for the coherence of the sample and the absence of interest conflicts, the result interpretation could be wrongful. The fact that all the chemicals founded in the samples are approved by the law does not exclude a priori that the company’s product cannot be deleterious for pets. For instance, the combination of some elements may generate a reaction producing harmful effect. It may be also the case that the product itself is not damaging for animals, but some irregularities have manifested during the production of the recalled 4 million pounds of feed. Notwithstanding, this does not absolve the company from its responsibilities.

To sum up, from the accurate analysis of the author’s argumentation it is possible to rebut the final claim. However, in order to strength his position, the author should provide quantitative information on the samples and erase any possibilities for the presence of conflicts during the investigation. Finally, he should introduce more evidence on the chemical elements presented in the pet food.