Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based

Deciding the ambitions to achieved in human life it is known to be a harsh choice on which anyone need to ponder carefully. A diatribe may rise upon the idea that juveniles should be more guided to pursue worthy goals instead of their dreams. However, I believe that in order to reach happiness young people should follow their dreams and that the two concepts may coincide. In addition, the reason on which is based the claim presents some weaknesses, as it cannot be extended to the generality of individuals and it does not imply a valid motive to not follow dreams.

First of all, individuals are more likely to reach happiness by doing what they mostly prefer. How many are the human beings which conduct a boring life during their existence and for that reason are often gloomy? This occurs as the majority of people did not listen to their inner voice at the time of the most important decision of their life, namely, what to do in the future. Without doubt is important to have a job that allows having a financial stable condition and permits to build a family without the preoccupation of unemployment. Nevertheless, it is essential that individuals feel gratified by their achievements in order to conduct a delighted life. For this reason, society should continue teaching youngsters to purse their dreams, even if this is the most tortuous decision.

Furthermore, it is hard to believe that the majority of people seek dreams characterised by selfishness. Actually, a plethora of examples can be founded in history which disproves the reason on which is based the claim. M.L. King, for instance, spent his entire life seeking to obtain equal rights among US citizens, improving the life quality of the Afro-American minority. His dream was pure and absolutely the most distant from being egoistic. In addition, even though one attempts a selfish objective, does the latter generate always negative effects for the community? From a particular point of view, it is possible to assert that each dream has a certain degree of egoism, as we are focusing on the success of our desires. Nonetheless, the relevant matter is the impact of its realisation. From one hand, the political victory of a candidate can be seen as an egoistic success, but on the other hand, it can also be seen as an opportunity for changing and development. Accordingly, apparently selfish goals should not be always treated with hostility.

Moreover, opponents to the presented argument could aver that only by seeking worthy ambitions individuals can conduct and easier and carefree life. Accordingly, people in young age should only concentrate on those, avoiding efforts on the attainment of dreams. However, where is it written that a dream cannot be at the same time a worthy goal? Actually, it does not exist a precise definition of the latter, as it is a subjective concept. For example, working for a renowned multinational company may be the most satisfying goal for a person and contemporaneously the less desirable objective for another. Consequently, the subjectivity of the matter can strength the idea that by reaching dreams, people are still achieving worthy goals.