The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day. This will significantly reduce the number of summertime accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The neighboring island of Torseau actually saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year when Torseau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. To help reduce moped accidents, therefore, we should also enforce these limitations during the summer months."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that reduction of accidents ought to be top priority for Balmer Island town council, the author's argument does not make a cogent case for reduction in number of moped rentals allowed. It is easy to understand the author's need to keep the citizens out of harm's way, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to build the case.

To begin with, the author has made a crude assumption that the entirety of population uses the moped in Summer vacations. It may not be true that all of the 50 mopeds present in the rental shops are actually in use. Despite the added population, people may not be interested in riding mopeds in Summer at all, instead opting cycles, or cars as a mode of transport. In this case, reducing the number of moped rentals allowed, from 50 per day to 30 per day, may actually fail to help reduce the number of accidents.

Additionally, it is not clear from the author's statement whether number of mopeds are the sole reason for summertime accidents. Though these accidents involve mopeds and pedestrians, they may be a result of lack of road safety, namely properly working traffic signals, or walkways. The accidents may also be a result vast number of people strolling on the road, or the ignorance shown by pedestrians. In such case, once again, the author's claim to lower the number of mopeds seems to be weak.

Talking about the island of Torseau, the author mentions its number of accidents to be reduced by 50% since last year. The reason for this is stated as putting limits on the moped rentals. However, the author fails to compare the number of accidents occurring in Torseau and Balmer. If the accidents in Torseau are negligible as compared to the ones in Balmer, then the entire statistic that the assumption is based on, proves to be invalid. Furthermore, the author does not posses a strong proof of whether the accidents in Torseau are actually reduced as a result of minimizing the number of vehicles.

Road side and traffic safety are serious matters to tend to, taking into account the lives and health of the citizens. Adopting safety education, maintenance of road and vehicles, and overall attentiveness of the drivers, as well as pedestrians, will help to support the former statement. However, the author's argument regarding the reduction of limit on moped rental is not necessarily a solution to the given problem.