Claim: In any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments.

Reason: Facts are objective, so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals.

Individuality in mindsets and thought processes is the nature's gift given to mankind. Considering this, it is but natural that we have conflicts and differences of opinion among ourselves. I partially agree to the statement that in any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments. According to me, there are numerous different kinds of situations that we face everyday, and each one of them cannot be handled in the same manner.

The way to persuade people must be decided acording to the conflict at hand. If the problem is a technical one, then facts and statistics will definitely help lure people to your side. For instance, if a decision is to be made regarding which smartphone to buy, presenting people with information about optimum battery life, memory, and speed of a certain brand of phone, will make them lean towards buying it. Thus, for situations where no emotional decision needs to be made, it is easier to convince people taking the aid of facts and statistics.

On the second hand, let us consider decisions where personal choices are to be made. For example, if a couple is thinking about having children, do you think it is possible to convince them otherwise, using facts? It will not matter to them the factuals about how many children are born everyday, and how the population of the world is growing substantially. Similarly, you cannot persuade someone to like a movie, or a song, or a painting on the basis of statistics regarding how many people have liked it, or how many people haven't. Hence, in such situation, facts and statistics may not be the right way for persuasion.

It is true that facts are objective, and they show what is true and what is not. Nonetheless, they cannot always be more persuasive than subjective appeals. Sometimes, you have to take a good look at the bunch you are trying to persuade. Each individual has their own way with the things, and each one needs to be convinced in their own way. It may happen that you can persuade a 40-year-old business man regarding his business strategies showing him graphs and tables. But will you be able to convince a 4-year-old child to not eat candy, showing him statistics about dental hygiene?

Though mathematical approach is a very good tool in any dispute, it is not always the right one. It is very important to consider the people you are having conflicts with, and persuade them in their own way. Only then, you increase the changes to getting what you want from the conversation.