When Stanley Park first opened it was the largest most heavily used public park in town It is still the largest park but it is no longer heavily used Video cameras mounted in the park s parking lots last month revealed the park s drop in popularity the re

While it may be true that Stanley Park is not as heavily used as it was in the past, the author's arguments regarding the reasons and solutions for its current state are debatable. In the given argument, the author compares the usage of two parks in the same town. However, he/she has not used the correct basis for comparison, and hence, the argument sounds weak.

The author claims that there are only 50 cars visiting Stanley Park per day, whereas, 150 cars visit Carlton Park. Assuming these statistics to be true, the number of cars in a park does not neccesarily determine the number of people going inside the park. Since Carlton Park is near business district area, people may be using the park only as a parking spot. On the contrary, if Stanley Park is situated near residence area, people living nearby may not be needing cars to go to this park. The residents may be walking or cycling to the park. Considering this, the author's asummption that number of cars equal to the number of people using a park is questionable.

The author believes that Stanley Park will gain popularity by providing more benches for people to socialize. Nevertheless, a study regarding the useage of benches at Carlton Park is important to the argument. It is unclear whether the people use benches at all. The benches at the Carlton Park may be deserted. People may like to roam around the walkway of the parks, rather than sitting at one place. Hence, to suggest conversion of open areas into places for socializing sounds unsteady.

Moreover, the author claims that ample seating is the only reason that people enjoy Carlton Park over Stanley Park. However, the reasons that the later has been getting fewer visitors can be a combination of various aspects. Stanley Park may be situated on the outskirts of the town, making it inconvenient for people to travel such a distance. Stanley Park may also be deprived of other amenities such as availability of drinking water, washrooms, etc. Besides, Carlton Park may be recently built and, out of curiosity, people may be visiting it more. Thus, the author must study all such reasons and give suggestions accordingly.

A well-maintained park surely adds value to the town's beauty and social image. It is important for Stanley Park to be brought up to its original honour. However, the argument needs more study to justify its claims.