“The problem of poor teacher performance that has plagued the state’s public school systems is bound to become a good deal less serious in the future. The state has initiated comprehensive guidelines that oblige teachers to complete a number of required credits in education and educational psychology at the graduate level before being certified.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the “implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

One ought to consider any opinion with skepticism, and the suggestion that making compulsory for teachers to complete credits in certain courses will improve the poor performance by teachers in future is no different. The author argues that in order to improve the performance of instructors in government schools, teachers should complete, as part of their training, courses in education and psychology education. The argument rests on questionable analogy that the obtaining these qualifications will automatically improve the teachers performances and that the teachers do not posses these credits.

The author relates improving the performance of teachers in future to the attaining credits in psychology and education. This claim is not sufficiently backed we do not to verify that obtaining these qualifications will improve the performance. Psychology courses are courses that deal with the human mind. there is no evidence suggesting that the instructors are lacking the necessary mental capacity to provide the required academic performances. the claim also rests on the assumption that the teachers do not posses these prerequisite courses. Teachers undergo training in many courses and psychology could be one of the training they receive. This could mean that some teachers already possess the required credits being suggested. To set the argument on more sound footing, the writer would need to demonstrate that the teachers do not posses the qualifications being suggested.

one might object that poor performances may be caused by many other factors. The argument assumes that there are no other causes for the deplorable performances in government schools. The teachers may not be to blame after all for the poor performance. In schools performances are dependent on both the instructors and teachers. Students not making effort in their academic performances always results in poor performances regardless of the teacher. The poor performances are not likely to improve in future even if the regulation is enforced if there are other factors causing the bad performance and are not addressed. To validate the argument, the author would need to provide evidence that there are no other factors that have caused poor performances apart from lacks of psychology education.

In conclusion, the suggestions made by the author to improve bad perfromnces are based on unjustifiable assumptions that teachers do not posses the suggested compulsory courses and that there are no other factors that may have caused the poor performances. To substantiate his claims, the author would need to prove without a reasonable doubt that the teachers do not posses the certificate being proposed and that there are no other factors causing the poor performances.