Decline in sales

The marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores suggests that the company employs marketing techniques used by a rival to arrest the decline in sales. A decrease in sales by a company can be caused by several factors. while taking a leaf from a rival company experiencing an increase may be beneficial in reversing the downward trend in sales, the director’s opinion depends on assumptions that lack basis, sound illogical and need concrete evidence to be convincing.

Firstly, the marketing director suggest that the company places its on ads in the pet magazine. to stop the decline Advertisements generally work best when a company or the product being advertised are relatively unknown. There is no indication whether the company or the people are familiar with the products already. In suggesting that the company uses the pet magazine because the rival company which is successful, will help alleviate the decline, the director is assuming that lack of ads is the reason for the company's decline. this too isn't proved . Companies generally lose customers due to many reasons. Could be that the companies goods are expensive compared to their rival. Customers may also lose trust to poor customer service by the company. The rival company could be selling the same products at a much cheaper price, hence attracting more buyers. To set the argument on a more sound footing, the director needs to prove that the decline is solely sue to lack of advertisement ,their pricing is the same as the other company, and that the decline in sales isn't due to bad reviews.

Secondly, the author’s opinion is based on the assumption that placing ads in magazines will automatically reverse the decline. When a company’s declines, it is very difficult to resurrect. Customers will have alternative places to buy the same products being sold. Even if an ad is placed in magazines, there is no indication that people will abandon their preferred stores for the newly advertised one. In order to validate the claim, the director needs to prove that people do not know about the product hence the need to start advertising in magazines.

Thirdly, the Director suggests that the company places its advertisements in other magazines apart from the one used by the successful competitor. Magazines vary in popularity. Certain magazines have an outreach far greater than others. Placing an ad in popular magazines will be more beneficial to the company. however , the director is assuming that all other magazines will have the same impact as the the one used by its main rival. to validate the claims the director needs to prove by showing that all the magazines have the same outreach and same impact.

in conclusion , the directors claim are based on unsupported assumptions that using magazine ads like its rivals will reverse the decline in sale and that there is no other reason causing the reduction in sales. In order to validate the claims the director has to prove that indeed the advertising in the magazine will have a similar impact as their competition.