Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that Madagascan shrimps will be an endangered species may be true these reasons.

Due to fishing by deep-sea fishermen, the population of the shrimps may have gone so down that the remaining available for breeding is in mere amount. This will mean that there will be much lesser shrimps for the catch for the fishermen and continuing practice of exploiting the habitat of shrimps can lead to their extinction.

Also, the argument does not state the exact breeding time of the shrimps. Different Madagascan shrimps may have different breeding time. So this may lead to a slow increase in their population which increases their chance to get extinct.

Moreover, constant interruptions of their habitat may prevent their chances of breeding which may cause a decrease in their population.

However, from looking from a different point of view, the argument may be unwarranted due to the following reasons.

Maybe there is a more significant factor other than the deep sea fishermen which destroy the habitat of shrimps. Say there is a kind of shark in Madagascan which feeds on shrimps during their breeding time. This may restrict them to breed and can endanger them.

Also if Madagascan shrimps can migrate to different places then the possibility of them getting extinct by deep-sea fishermen is low.

In a nutshell, the argument provided can be valid for the reasons such as destroying the habitat of shrimps may prevent them from breeding and can population decrease. Also it can be considered invalid because of reasons such as the migrating ability of shrimps can cause a drop in population.