Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

The author does make an important rationale regarding the alarming reduction of Madagascan shrimp, however, the hypothesis that the reduction related only due to incursions by deep-sea fishermen for hunting the Madagascan shrimp isin't complete and needs to be further evaluated with concrete evidence.

The hunting of Madagascan shrimp by the fishermen is not new and has been going on since the late 1970's when they were first discovered as an exotic delicacy indemic to the neighbouring islands. Having said that, the numbers have started decreasing until recently. We need to assess if the consumption of MS increased globally or not.

There needs to be a comprehensive study performed to evaluate other factors that might lead to a sudden drop in number : does rise in average water temperature due to global warming casue this? Majority of the flaura and fauna found in the deep waters are heavily dependant on the water temperatures. The coral reefs in maldives is set go extinct by 2025 for the same reasons.

Has there been a exponential rise in a predator species in that area. A recent ban was put in action by the OSC(Ocean welfare society) to stop the hunting of Sharks. Though this has been fo significant help in rising the number of sharks worldwide, but this is also means there a increase of natural hunters scavanging food for there survival.

With all the said, the author does present a pressing issue with the decrease in MS, there needs to be some detailed research needed to be able to accurately determine the cause of the population drop.