Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species in the next several years is based on multiple parameters. The decrease in the species population can be attributed to the recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into their habitats if the following evidence is provided.

It is important to know which fish the deep-sea fishermen intend to catch during their incursions. For instance catching of any other, more profitable fish seems plausible as these incursions obviously cost money and the fishermen would want to maximize the margin and consequently the profits. If this is the case, deep-sea fishermen are surely not even the reason for the reduction in Madagascan shrimp population.

If that is not correct and the deep-sea fishermen are indeed fishing shrimp, the reduction in population can be justified. But, to claim that the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species more information about the rate of reproduction in Madagascan shrimp and the length in time of the breeding season is necessary because if the rate of the supply of new shrimp to the habitat is equal to the rate at which the fishermen are depleting the habitat, it will nullify each other and the shrimp population will only fluctuate withing bounds in between the breeding and non-breeding periods.

The quality of the fishing and sailing pratices by the deep-sea fishermen is also an important parameter to consider. Regardless of what and wether the fishermen are catching if they harm the Madagascan shrimp in some other way, spilling poisonous substances for instance, this upward trend in the incursions by deep-sea fishermen migh indeed make Madagascan shrimp and endangered species soon.

Thus the strength of the argument depends on these multiple parameters and evidence about all these will individually strengthen or weaken the argument as discussed.