Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

This argument states that although Madagascan shrimp will soon be entering their breeding season, thereby increasing their population significantly, it will never be able to replenish its population to that of what it was before the deep-sea fisherman began infringing on their habitat. This statement is not supported with any reasoning as to why the population of shrimp would not be able to return to its original capacity. It states that because this trend will continue over several years, the population will continually decrease until it becomes endangered.

Evidence regarding the rate of reproduction of the shrimp as well as the amount of shrimp that the fisherman are collecting is needed to support or weaken this argument, depending on the numbers that are found. It would also be important to observe the length of the fishing season in comparison to the length of breeding season for the shrimp. If the rate of reproduction of the shrimp is lesser than the amount of shrimp that are being caught, ultimately reducing the population, then this would be evidence to say that what this argument is claiming is true. On the other hand, if the shrimp reproduce at a faster rate, then there would be no reason why the shrimp wouldn't replenish their population, weakening the argument. These numbers could be compared with the different lengths of these seasons, because this could also play a role in the amount that is reproduced/caught in comparison with the other.

Another piece of evidence that would strengthen this argument would be to have evidence of other predators in the sea, that, in addition to the deep-sea fisherman, also play a role in the significant reduction of this species. If evidence was provided, stating that other predators play just as big of a role in the diminishing of this species population as the fishermen do, there would be adequate reason to believe that the addition of the fishermen to this would mean that even during breeding season, the species may not be able to keep its population steady, as it had been doing when only dealing with predators of the sea.

In conclusion, this argument solely states this species would not be able to replenish itself to what it was before fishermen arrived, and does not give any evidence as to why it would not be capable of doing this. Evidence to support this argument could be easily found and would ultimately make this argument much more convincing to the unknowing eye.