Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author proposes a possible reason as to why their has been a significant decrease in the number of Madagascan shrimp. The author, however does provide enough evidence to make this claim valid and does not take a number of factors into consideration.

First, the author does not take into account outside factors that may have caused the decrease in population, aside from the deep-sea fisherman. One possible reason for the decrease in population is due to temperature changes in the water due to global warming, which have caused the shrimp to migrate to a new area. This would indicate that the shrimp are not in danger, and instead have just relocated. In order for the author pinpoint the decrease solely to the fisherman, they would have to account for the type of marine life the fisherman are capturing and also take into account other factors such as the shrimp relocating due to termperature changes in the water.

Furthermore, the author's assertion for the trend of the shrimp not to return to original levels over the next several years is not supported. The argument does not provide evidence to support this claim and one can not be sure if the fisherman will stay or leave, which could influence the population of shrimp and this trend. A number of additional factors could have an affect on this trend such as the length of the shrimps breeding season, which if it outweighs the time fisherman are there, could result in an increase in population.

The author also does not take into account that if in fact this type of shrimp becomes endangered, the protective policies that would be put in place to protect them from going extinct. Such policies could incude banning deep-sea fisherman from entering their habitat, which would then increase their population and protect them from becoming endangered. Such policies would increase the number of shrimp over the next years, proving this argument false.

In all, it is not wrong for the author to assert that Madagascan shrimp are in a position in which they may become endangered. The decrease in their numbers is alarming, but in order to find the conclusion that this trend is due to deep sea-fisherman and will continue is not well-supported. In order to make this argument more valid, the author must take into account global warming , protective policies and other factors in order to support the assertion that the shrimp will become endangered.