The recent report from the marketing department suggests that there is a need for allocation of a greater budget for the Super Screen movies to increase awareness. This is based on the pretext that very few people attended the Super Screen Movies this year, even though the movies had great reviews last year. Hence it is extrapolated that increasing public awareness would increase the number of viewers watching Super Screen movies. I would present three pieces of evidence that would suggest that why this recommendation is unreasonable.

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, it is stated that to reach a larger audience, the Super Screen Company should allocate a larger budget for advertising. The author of the argument came to this recommendation based on the fact that last year the number of audiences with positive reviews increased, and the review did not reach the gamut of audience because of a lack of audience. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered by the proponent of the argument.

First of all, are the previous scenarios from the past year and the upcoming year comparable? In other words, is it reasonable to assume that fewer people visited the super screen last year and that the same will also occur this year? It is possible that people were busy with their most important work, so they could not go to the movie. In addition, perhaps the expense level of the audience—such as compared to the income on other most basic needs such as children's school fees, food items, and rent bills, etc.—increased and they could not allocate budget for a movie or entertainment. Furthermore, maybe this year was an election year and more people were busy with political advertising and did not get sufficient time for movies. If either of these scenarios has merit, the conclusion is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is it wise to think that people's flow is reduced just because they were unaware of the quality of the movie? Can they be so tasteless and unaware of movies--especially all the dwellers? Where there is a will, there is a way. People get information from all the sources if they are really interested in anything. It is an arrant immature assumption of the proponent of the argument that people did not come just because they were not aware of it. The author, here, is not taking only a special group of people, rather he is including all people--who used to go to movies the previous year but not now. It is possible that they are not satisfied with the movie quality and content: they did not like the content, graphics, or maybe did not feel heartened. Additionally, it is also possible that there are other theaters that offer the same quality of movie and don’t cost an exorbitant price. Thus, if any of the questions gets validation, then the argument doesn’t hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer all the above questions and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to allocate a considerable amount of money for advertising.