A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the editorial from the local newspaper, it is stated that the increasing use of salicylates by commercial companies in food items could reduce the headache problem from which the resident of Meniata were suffering. The proponent of the author has come to this conclusion based on the fact that food companies are adding salicylic in their food items in commercial way; salicylate is the medicine used to treat headache. However, before this prediction to be properly evaluated following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, are increase use of salicylate in artificial food items and reduction in headache of dwellers of Menita comparable? In other word, is it appropriate to think that the single reason behind the reduction in headache is rise in use of salicylic in commercial food items? It is possible that there are many other factors as well that have major role in reducing the pain endured. The change in their eating-habit, mediation, and placated stress level could have alleviated the problem during that period; people in Menita could have started doing regular physical exercises such as jogging, yoga, or gym that could also have reduced their headache. Further, there is possibility that resident in Manita could have started eating natural foods rich in salicylate. If these, scenario have merit, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, had all the patients (citizens of Manita) be such economically viable that they could assure all the commercial salicylic containing food stuffs in their regular diet? The opponent in the argument prematurely assume that people subsist in Manita are well-off to afford high value commercial food items in regular basis. People in that place may come under different economic class or may be; many of them belongs to lower-middle class - their living standard here is assumed to be well-to-do and unwavering without thorough research. If the above situation is true, then the argument doesn’t hold water.

Last but not the least, will it be wise to assume that high consumption of salicylate will only have health benefit - do not have any side effects - without deteriorating immune system or other health aspects? Whatever its health benefits are, if highly consumed--at the end it is a chemical compound--might create severe health glitches. It is possible that artificial foods fortified with salicylate, if regular consumed, might exacerbate the headache other diseases after couple of years; or it might cause insensitivity towards other analgesics drugs and make impossible to cure completely. If the provided reasons set valid then the given argument is meaningfully wakened.

In the conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on severe unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer all these questions mentioned above and offer more evidence ( perhaps in the form of more systematic study) then, it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed prediction and argument.