In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution

without first being strongly influenced by past achievements in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you

take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways

in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these

considerations shape your position.

With the advent of any inventions or creativities in the world, be it in very trivial scenarios to the huge culmination of development through various aspects, needs the perseverance and tenacity in that field. One who grips the realm of area with determination can achieve whatever he/ she aspires to. In this contemplation, I disagree with the aforementioned prompt of past events being the only strong influence for the achievements.

One can enlist hundreds of names from the histories who had significant and noble contribution to our world. There are diverse fields where new yet innovative, which in the earlier thought to be impossible, are made. From the daily usage of appliances at home, to the services on road via buses, to the flying aeroplane, our ancestors would hardly have thought of anything such to be possible but at the end, we are here, living in that moment.

When looking at the instances of achievements, one would hardly forget Thomas Edison. Whole world directly or indirectly acknowledges him for his contributions. If he had not dare to do something new than we would have probably lived in the dark, only relying on conventional methods of brightness. Initially he was admonished and discouraged stating that it was nearly impossible but his determination leads to the place where we are now.

In this regard, it would be very unwise not to enlist aerodynamics achievements. Today people are traveling at the moon and mars, could easily get accessed on the information of whole solar system, hundreds of satellites are installed to get us facilitated with technological inventions. These in fact are very less influenced by the past activities. Twenty first century has been the era of technologies, only because of the mindset of people, thinking ahead of past.

Furthermore, great minds have great impacts on the societies. Not to forget, past do have certain level of impacts on people. Without past failures, future possibilities are very less. Talking about the failure, most of the people in Nepal are aware how hard it was to treat eye related problems in economic way in last decades, is actually made easier by Mr. Sanduik Ruit now, whose contribution in the field of ophthalmology is known in whole Asia. Ironically, here failure was not the lack of achievements but it was the desire which none felt but Sanduk Ruit-introduced low-cost and effective intraocular lenses.

When it is true that we must always be motivated towards the new paths, it is equally true that no one can achieve higher if he/she does not challenge the existing boundaries created by himself or by the society. The outcome of any activities would be unclear if one lives under the influence of restrictions. Not to forget, knowledge and experience of requisites should be the best teacher but the aspirations must lead people in a positive way in a significant manner so that none things can restrict him/ her if he/ she aspires to be great, to do great.