A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

In the above argument, the author concludes that, in the Bay Area, the Captain Seafood restaurant could have a good reputation and could be profitable by selling seafood. The author comes to this conclusion because the people nowadays have become more conscious about their health, leading to the restaurant getting more attention from the people in the area.. However, there are some unwarranted assumptions which are not cited explicitly in the argument that need some attention. Thus, the author needs to answer three questions in order to make the argument more persuasive.

First, is the study that has been conducted regarding the recent sales reliable? Has this study been conducted at only a few restaurants (The passage never says they conducted the study at restaurants)? Most importantly, in the past few years most of the things have changed (You need to use maybe language here…perhaps things have changed). Perhaps the study that was conducted which consider that the consumption of seafood has increased by 30% may have taken few restaurant chains as the part of their study, for which it’s nearly impossible to say the actual scenario that’s after five year. The study source may not have any reliable source. Perhaps, the study, when conducted has been confined to a limited area. Additionally, it may be possible that some restaurants might not have participated in the study. These assumptions, if true, will surely weaken the conclusion.

Second, another question is that if there is any possibility of existence of any restaurant whose specialty is seafood? The author presented in the argument that there is not any restaurant in the Bay Area whose specialty is seafood. If this was true then how the consumption of the seafood has been increased significantly? Perhaps, there may be a case the author might have failed to get to know about the specialty of each and every city restaurant whether it is a small one being run by the locals or it can be a joint venture of different group of people or it’s a renowned one. Perhaps, the one the known restaurant chains might not be specialized in the seafood. But, simultaneously, there may be a case, for which, he might have failed to take small restaurants which are run by the small groups, earn their living by fishing which can be correlated to the supplying of seafood in their restaurant or small outlets. These might have a significant effect on the author’s assumptions.

Third, the income of the people especially in the middle class families could be linked to healthy living? There may be case the major proportion of the families in the Area are two-income families which makes the reader think twice that the profit of the Captain Seafood restaurants would increase. Most importantly, it’s is true that the people prefer home-cooked meals might include varieties of fruits and vegetables, to be considered healthy, which may or may not be vegetarian meal. Definitely, the sea-food is non-vegetarian which families may or may not prefer. Perhaps, the meals might include some seafood items which may include the fish that can be directly home-cooked, involves no restaurant link, albeit no direct profit for restaurant. The people in the area may consider the seafood which can be cooked at home at minimum cost and usage of oil and spices which may put restaurants of no use. The arguments, if prove true may have a significant effect on the unfounded assumptions of the author,

To sum up, the evidences in the assumptions assumes that the profit of the Captain Seafood restaurant may increase but it’s dependent on the fact that the studies that were conducted were from reliable sources which may not jeopardize the situation that is in the restaurants in the Area. Furthermore, if we assume, the assumptions, cited by the author, if proved true, may not help the reader to come on to concrete conclusion about the profit margin of the restaurant for which the reader may reader may remain skeptical.