The fact that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology creates culture of excess consumerism.

Human history has never witnessed before the way technological revolution is changing our life. Time saver, usually affordable, availability these are the some of the characteristics which has made technology essential part of our life. As in human nature if we get something useful easily available and at affordable price, we have tendency to consume it in excess. Same has happened with technology too. The populace for which it is affordable and available easily, they have made it essential part of their life and consuming it like any other basic need for example clothes or food. I agree with author on his statement. In todays life, specially in metro cities overconsumption of technology has become a fashion.

Automobiles have become easily available at affordable rates than ever before. Earlier it was luxury to have automobiles but now medium income family and even low income family can afford automobiles. Due to which we can easily see more than needed cars or other vehicles at homes. Almost every adult in the family would like to have a private car to travel instead of using public transport. Same has happened with mobile phones industry, cheaper rates, multi functionality and easily availability has caused humans to have more than one mobile phone irrespective of wether there is need or not. Online shopping or e-commerce, another symbol of prosperity or fashion or luxury life. Now you can buy things, order food at home only with this technology. It has caused humans to buy things or food whenever needed at ease and companies also offer lots of coupons to get money out from customer pockets.

Now a days music is one click away. You have to just open music application on your phone and put headphones on your ear. It has brought a culture of listening music while working. Farmers are using easily available pesticides in more quantity than needed. Author can claim that cars, mobile phones and computers are helping us to get our work done in less time and with more productivity. Author can say that music can help in canceling noise in the surrounding and thus maintaining more focus on work. I can agree with author’s claim with some extent but instead of using private cars, if we travel by public transport or nearby distance can be traveled on buycyle also, that will save fuel, energy which can be used for some other purposed. If noise is the problem at work place then it should be reported to management instead of finding alternate ways always.

No doubt technology has provided us to solve problems in efficient ways but it has made us lazy , overconsuminist too. Technological products consume natural resources in making them. We should use technology very wisely, in a limited manner. Otherwise the day is not far when we will consume all our resources or we will become slave to technology.