A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, it avers that the new Captain Seafood restaurant in Bay City which specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable. The author has come to this conclusion based on the nationwide study that the majority of families who are two-income earners eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago and are simultaneously more concerned about healthful eating. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be collected and analyzed.

First, it is important to determine whether all of the families who are double income earners savour seafood and are particular about the healthiness of what they consume. It is possible that some may be repulsive to the taste and aroma of seafood and some of them do not give attention to what they eat. Perhaps, a number of these families prefer to eat from fast-food restaurants as they find it more pleasurable and quicker. Haply, some of the families that care about what they eat would go for vegetable-rich menus. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, it is crucial to ascertain if the statistics of the sales study is made up of only two-income families who enjoy eating seafood dishes. The author prematurely assumes that the increased sales study during the past five years was because of the two-income families. However, this might not be the case. Maybe, a particular small portion of these families frequently visited the restaurants and during the five years might have moved from Bay City area. More so, the study could have majorly consisted of families who are not two-income earners and opted for sea food to celebrate special occasions. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Furthermore, it is essential to establish if the nationwide study conducted was a true representation of the families in Bay City. The author impetuously posits that since the majority of the families in Bay City were two-income earners, it also would concur to the nationwide study which showed that such families had lesser homemade meals. Nevertheless, the case might be different. Possibly, families in other cities comprised a larger part of the study. This would mean that Bay City only contributed to a minute fraction to the study. Thus, cannot be generalized. Peradventure, families in Bay City preferred home-cooked meals since despite their two jobs they still had time to cook their meals themselves. If one of them has credit, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is remarkably weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide the three pieces of evidence stated above and perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it will be possible to determine whether new Captain Seafood restaurant in Bay City which specializes in seafood will be quite popular and profitable.