The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the author recommends that Bargain Brand expand its business by producing and selling other food products at a cheap price. The author has come to this conclusion based on the fact that Bargain Brand breakfast cereal which was sold at a low price attracted many customers away from other top-selling companies. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be collected and analyzed.

First of all, it is crucial to ascertain if the customers would also enjoy other food products produced by Bargain Brand. The author prematurely assumes that since the customers enjoyed the first product by Bargain Brand which is the breakfast cereal, they would also relish other food products by the Bargain. However, this might not be the case. Maybe, the customers already have a preferred company for other food products which sells at a low price also. More so, there is no statistics or pre-survey that shows that the customers would favour the introduction of the new products. If the above is verifiable, then the deduction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it is essential to establish if the customers would continue to buy the breakfast cereal even after one year for the brand to still maintain its profit margin. It is possible that after one year, the customers would favour buying from another new company which also sells at a lower price. Perhaps, even if no new company comes in, the price of producing the breakfast cereal might increase which subsequently would affect the price for the cereal to be sold. If Bargain decided not to increase the price at which the cereal is sold, they could run at a loss or if they do decide to do so, this would make them lose customers, thus, a decrease in their profit margin. If one of them has credit, then the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, it is important to determine if other top-selling cereal brands have not decided to sell their cereal products as the same measurement as Bargain Brand at the same low price. The author impetuously posits that the customer preferred Bargain Brand only because of its low price. Nevertheless, this might not be the case. Possibly, other top-selling cereal brands could have greater taste and quality but had a smaller quantity. They could decide to sell their cereals as the same quantity and price that Bargain Brand does without comprising their quality. Haply, the other top-selling brands could have done a customer survey on how to improve better and make the customers continue to patronise them during the first year of Bargain brand success. They could decide to implement the feedback gotten from this survey the following year and get back their customers. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is remarkably weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide the three pieces of evidence stated above and perhaps conduct a systematic research study then it will be possible to determine whether Bargain brand expand its business by producing and selling other food products at a low rate.